loading ...
spinner

Rail replacement

From 18 October to 14 November 2021, the Lucerne-Lucerne Allmend/Messe railway line will be closed due to expansion work. Rail replacement buses will operate.

Carnival at Nidwalden

1 / 6

Parade on dirty Thursday in Stans, 2020

Photo: nidwalden.com

2 / 6

Parade on dirty Thursday in Stans, 2020

Photo: nidwalden.com

3 / 6

Parade on dirty Thursday in Stans, 2020

Photo: nidwalden.com

4 / 6

Parade on dirty Thursday in Stans, 2020

Photo: nidwalden.com

5 / 6

Parade on dirty Thursday in Stans, 2020

Photo: nidwalden.com

6 / 6

Parade on dirty Thursday in Stans, 2020

Photo: nidwalden.com

×

Carnival in Canton Nidwalden is characterised by colourful parades, loud guggen street music and exuberant merrymaking. The run-up to carnival begins in January in the form of pre-carnival parties.

Pre carnival 2022

Sat, 20.11.22

Carnival opeing Nidwalden, Senkel Stans

Fri, 07.01.22

Schlagerparty, Hergiswil

Sat, 08.01.22
Sat, 15.01.22

45 years Birger Fäger, Ennetbürgen

Fri, 11.02.22

Carnival opening Buochs / Ländlerabig

Sat, 12.02.22

Carnival opening, Buochs

Sun, 13.02.22

Public rehearsal Ribi-Häxä, MZA Dallenwil

Fri, 18.02.22

Schluchtiball Ennetmoos, Ennetmoos

Sat, 19.02.22

Guugenüberfall Stans, village centre Stans

Sun, 20.02.22

Public rehearsal Lopper-Gnome, 02.00 p.m. - 05.00 p.m., Hergiswil

Carnival 2022

Thu, 24.02.22 ("Schmutzig Thursday")

Stans, village centre
05.30 a.m. Big Bang, 02.00 p.m. carnival parade and guggen concerts

Sat, 26.02.22

Schränzernacht, Beckenried

Mon, 28.02.22 ("Güdis Monday")
Tue, 01.03.22 ("Güdis Tuesday")

Geschichtliches

Originally, people celebrated carnival to banish the evil demons of winter with loud music and disguises.

From Big Bang to fasting

The carnival week proper starts early in the morning on Schmutzig Thursday with the Urknall (Big Bang – literally a loud explosion), at which point the guggen street musicians gathered on the village square start their cacophony, all playing at the same time. Carnival is celebrated throughout the region during the ensuing days. And because, a few days later, Ash Wednesday marks the start of Lent and fasting, the revellers indulge in much feasting. Golden-brown fried chneublätze wafers, ziegerkrapfen goat's cheese fritters and schenkeli biscuits are popular carnival treats.

Start movie!