loading ...
spinner

Carnival at Nidwalden

1 / 6

Parade on dirty Thursday in Stans, 2020
Photo: Christina Bucher

 

2 / 6

Parade on dirty Thursday in Stans, 2020
Photo: Christina Bucher

 

 

 

3 / 6

Parade on dirty Thursday in Stans, 2020
Photo: Christina Bucher

4 / 6

Parade on dirty Thursday in Stans, 2020
Photo: nidwalden.com

5 / 6

Parade on dirty Thursday in Stans, 2020
Photo: Christina Bucher

 

6 / 6

Parade on dirty Thursday in Stans, 2020
Photo: Christina Bucher

 

×

Carnival in Canton Nidwalden is characterised by colourful parades, loud guggen street music and exuberant merrymaking. The run-up to carnival begins in January in the form of pre-carnival parties.

Pre carnival 2022

Sat, 20.11.22

CANCELLED: Carnival opening Nidwalden, Senkel Stans
Save the date: 12.11.22 Carnival opening Nidwalden

Fri, 07.01.22

CANCELLED: Schlagerparty, Hergiswil

Sat, 08.01.22
Sat, 15.01.22

CANCELLED: 45 years Birger Fäger, Ennetbürgen

Fri, 11.02.22

Carnival opening Buochs / Ländlerabig

Sat, 12.02.22

Carnival opening, Buochs

Sun, 13.02.22

Public rehearsal Ribi-Häxä, MZA Dallenwil

Fri, 18.02.22

Schluchtiball Ennetmoos, Ennetmoos

Sat, 19.02.22

Guugenüberfall Stans, village centre Stans

Sun, 20.02.22

Public rehearsal Lopper-Gnome, 02.00 p.m. - 05.00 p.m., Hergiswil

Carnival 2022

Thu, 24.02.22 ("Schmudo")

Stans, village centre
05.30 a.m. Big Bang

Sat, 26.02.22

Schränzernacht, Beckenried

Mon, 28.02.22 ("Güdis Monday")

Carnival for children Hergiswil

Tue, 01.03.22 ("Güdis Tuesday")

Uislumpete Dallenwil
Uislumpätä Buochs

History

Originally, people celebrated carnival to banish the evil demons of winter with loud music and disguises.

From Big Bang to fasting

The carnival week proper starts early in the morning on Schmutzig Thursday with the Urknall (Big Bang – literally a loud explosion), at which point the guggen street musicians gathered on the village square start their cacophony, all playing at the same time. Carnival is celebrated throughout the region during the ensuing days. And because, a few days later, Ash Wednesday marks the start of Lent and fasting, the revellers indulge in much feasting. Golden-brown fried chneublätze wafers, ziegerkrapfen goat's cheese fritters and schenkeli biscuits are popular carnival treats.

Start movie!